Feb 24 - April 22 2016


72 Salaminos str.
104 35 Athens

As part of the UNLOCKED publication launch ATOPOS cvc hosted an exhibition where its new book was presented as an art object. Through a number of site-specific installations Vassilis Zidianakis unraveled his research and the production process of UNLOCKED, a unique edition in the form of a photo narrative. The installations consisted of the original, aluminum, offset printing plates, which were used for the production of the UNLOCKED, whereas an announced performance of a nude, young man and woman strolling around Atopos library and reading or playing around with the book completed Zidianakis‘ concept.

More about the UNLOCKED Book

The new book of ATOPOS cvc attempts to “unlock” the depiction of the Naked Body in the post-photographic, digital era. Jérôme Delormas, director of la Gaîté Lyrique, Paris, and honorary guest for the evening, underlines in his Foreword for the book that “UNLOCKED is political because it reverses the order of dominant thinking”.The comprehensive, 512 page publication constituted one of the first official recordings of a new visual language, which had emerged from the contemporary digital platforms and other forms of social media. From Ren Hang’s raw, avant-garde photography and Maisie Cousins’ hedonistic and full of colour images to Robert Wilson’s unconventional video portraits of Lady Gaga, UNLOCKED presented the works of 145 international photographers and artists including Aaron McElroy, Andrey Bogush, Asger Carlsen, Bill Durgin, Cheyenne Sophia, Czar Kristoff, David Marinos, Francesco Nazardo, Gorsad, Hobbes Ginsberg, Jacopo Benassi, Jess T. Dugan, Kate Peters, Kostis Fokas, Martin Petersen, Maxime Ballesteros, Maxime Leyvastre, Momo Okabe, Nico Krijno, Peter Kaaden, Romain Brunet, Sasha Kurmaz, Synchrodogs, Thomas Mailaender.

The new publication had been on sale throughout  the exhibition at a discount price.

UNLOCKED Book / Participating Artists:

Aaron McElroy (US), Akis Karanos (GR), Akuma Aizawa (ES) , Alessandro Ruggieri (IT), Amie Norris (US), Anaïs Boudot (FR), Andreas Nitschke (DE), Andreas Schimanski (DE), Andrew Lyman (US), Andrey Bogush (RU), Anne Lamb (US), Asger Carlsen (DK), Bart Hess (NL), Bernhard Handick (DE), Bill Durgin (US), Blaise Cepis (US), Blommers & Schumm (NL), Boris Hoppek (HR), Borys Makary (PL), Brandon Shade (US), Bridget Collins (US), Bronwen Parker-Rhodes (UK), Céline Manz (CH), Charles-Antoine Chappuis (CH), Cheyenne Sophia (US), Chloe Rosser (UK), Choi Hansol (KP), Christopher Schulz (US), Coco Young (US), Corrado Dalcò (IT), Czar Kristoff (PH), David Brandon Geeting (US), David Marinos (GR/UA), David Uzochukwu (BE), DelaDeso / Richie Velazquez (US), Don Elektro (DE), Dwi Asrul Fajar (ID), Elena Helfrecht (DE), Eli Craven (US), Elinor Carucci (IL), Elizabeth Renstrom (US), Erevank Argel (MX), Eric T. White (US), Ethan Tate (US), Eva Stenram (SE), Eylül Aslan (TR), Florian Tenk (DE), Francesco Nazardo (IT), Gertjan Decock (BE), Gorsad (UK), Greg Haji Joannides (GR), Gustavo Sagorsky (AR), Hanna Antonsson (SE), Hannah Godley (UK), Harold Diaz (US), Harry Gould Harvey IV (US), Heidi Andreasen (DK), Heitor Magno (BR), Hobbes Ginsberg (US), Hope (GR), Iztok Klančar (SI), Jacopo Benassi (IT), Jan Durina (SK), Jan Hoek (NL), Javier Rey (CO), Jayson Edward Carter (US), Jerry Seguin (US), Jess T. Dugan (US), Jesse Draxler (US), João Oliveira (PT), Karolin Klüppel (DE), Kate Peters (UK), Kent Andreasen (ZA), Khrysta Lloren (CA), Kohey Kanno (JP), Kostis Fokas (GR), Kristie Muller (CA), Lauren Winsor (UK), Laurence Philomène (CA), Laurence Rasti (CH), Lukasz Wierzbowski (PL), Maciek Jasik (PL), Maisie Cousins (UK), Manuel Moncayo (MX), Marco Dir (SK), Marlous van der Sloot (NL), Martin Laporte (CA), Martin Petersen (DE), Marton Perlaki (HU), Mathilde Giron (FR), Maxime Ballesteros (FR), Maxime Leyvastre (FR), Mayumi Hosokura (JA), Melchior Τersen (FR), Michael Max McLeod (US), Miranda Lehman (US), Momo Okabe (JA), Natalie Krick (US), Nico Krijno (ZA), Olivier Pin-Fat (UK), Pacifico Silano (US), Paul Knight (AU), Paul Kooiker (NL), Pedro Ivan (PO), Peter Kaaden (DE), Peter Puklus (RO), Photographer Hal (JA), Pinar Yolaçan (TU), Polly Brown (UK), Pretty Puke (US), Ren Hang (CH), Rik Garrett (US), Robert Wilson (US), Romain Brunet (FR), Ryan James Caruthers (US), Ryan Lowry (US), Sarah Bahbah (AU), Sarah Hamburger (US), Sasha Cresdee (UK), Sasha Kurmaz (UA), Sergey Melnitchenko (UA), Sergey Rogov (RU), Shae DeTar (US), Shohei Miyachi (JA), Silva+Cemin (BR), Simon Kossoff (UK), Stelios Kallinikou (CY), Steoville (CO), Synchrodogs (UA), Theo Spencer (UK), Thobias Malmberg (SE), Thomas Mailaender (FR), Thomas McCarty (US), Tiane Doan na Champassak (FR), Tibor Somodi (HU), Tohko Murakami (JA), Tycho Posthumus (NL), Tyler Spangler (US), V. Alard Lisbet (US), Vanessa Omoregie (UK), Vivian Fu (US), Vladimir Besson (FR), Will Rockel (US), Yiorgos Mavropoulos (GR), Zak Krevitt (US)

Press release gr

Press release en

Opening Date and Hour

February 24th 2016 // 19:00

Exhibition Days & Hours

Until Wednesday April 22nd 2016. Open every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 11:00-19:00. The rest of the week by appointment; please call +302108838151)



> Slide to Unlock


UNLOCKED Book is distributed by IDEA BOOKS


See also: