Communication Sponsors: **% H KAOHMEPINH**



Athens[®]Plus OZON

RRRIPP!! Paper FashionNEWSLETTER NO 6∀TOPOSCultural Organization, Athens

0

77-79 Patission str., 104 34 Athens, T: +30 210-883 8151, F: +30 210-883 8302, E: press@atopos.gr, www.atopos.gr

from ATOPOS Collection Curated by Vassilis Zidianakis

11.10.08 - 02.02.09 Luxembourg MUDAM LUXEMBOURG 12.03 - 16.08 2009 Antwerpen MODE MUSEUM October 2009 - January 2010 London DESIGN DESIGN MUSEUM MUSEUM 01.03 - 29.04 2007 Athens BENAKI 6 MUSEUM

BENAKI MUSEUM

NEWSLETTER No 6

ATOPOS (derived from the ancient Greek word ατοπος, meaning strange, eccentric, out of the ordinary) is an international, non-profit organization based in Athens. It was founded in 2003 by Stamos Fafalios and Vassilis Zidianakis with the aim of carrying out innovative projects that bring together new technologies with design, fashion and contemporary art; it is a cultural think-tank and operates as a workshop.

ATOPOS creates research programmes and collaborates internationally with new talent in the fields of science and the arts, the results of which are presented to the public in the form of exhibitions, performances and publications. ATOPOS also works with galleries, museums, independent artists and cultural organizations.

As a result of its research and through its collaborations, ATOPOS has, apart from its collection of original, disposable paper garments from the 1960s, assembled a unique collection of historical garments, original and rare creations by contemporary designers, art objects and video art. The collection reflects the current projects and is continuously being updated.

INTERNATIONAL BOARD of ADVISORS: Mr Dimitrios Antonitsis, Ms Marie-Claude Beaud, Mr Jean Bernier, Ms Marina Eliades, Mr Jean Pierre Blanc, Ms Françoise Cousin, Ms Kaat Debo, Ms Akiko Fukai Takahashi, Ms Irini Geroulanou, Sir Howard Hodgkin, Ms Lydia Kamitsis, Ms Jun Kanai, Ms Joanna Marschner, Mr Patrick & Ms Cynthia Odier, Mr Stathis Panagoulis, Mr Giorgos Vamvakides, Ms Ioanna Papantoniou, Ms Diane Pernet, Mr C. Raman Schlemmer, Mr Walter van Beirendonck, Ms Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada.

VTOPOS at MUDAM, Luxembourg



Following its successful first showing last year at the Benaki Museum in Athens, the exhibition "RRRIPP!! Paper Fashion" is now moving to the Mudam, Luxembourg and then, next year, to the Antwerp Museum of Fashion and the Design Museum of London, for the time being.

The exhibition, designed by ATOPOS, is the outcome of research into the littleknown phenomenon of paper fashion, which took the United States by storm during the late 1960s. It takes into account the historical context of paper fashion and seeks new and innovative ways of examining the subject of materials and the processing methods of woven and non-woven



fabrics, such as paper or paper-like materials. It also documents the various uses for paper within today's fashion industry through design, art and advertising, sound and video installations, fashion shows and contemporary creations by today's most innovative fashion designers. Simultaneously, it places particular emphasis on the ephemeral, fragile, humble and poetic nature of paper garments, juxtaposing modern creations with paper garments from different cultures and civilizations. The exhibition, primarily of the ATOPOS collection of disposable paper garments of the 1960s, also includes examples of rare and historical paper garments from Japan and China and original creations on paper by contemporary artists and designers.

In this particular exhibition, the fashion designers and artists participating are: Sandra Backlund, Walter Van Beirendonck, Karim Bonnet / Takashi Murakami, Bless, Hugo Boss / James Rosenguist, Sarah Caplan, Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, Michael Cepress, Hussein Chalayan, Ann Demeulemeester, Yiorgos Eleftheriades / Kristina P., Maurizio Galante, John Galliano, Harry Gordon, Mathew Holloway, Travis Hutchison, Zoe Keramea, Yannis Kyriakides, Bas Kosters, Tao Kurihara pour Comme des Garçons, Helmut Lang, Suzanne Lee, Jean-Paul Lespagnard, Martin Margiela, Irini Miga, Issey Miyake, Jum Nakao, Hiroaki Ohya, Angelo Plessas, Dirk Van Saene, Deepak Raja Shrestha, Raf Simons, Reiko Sudo / Nuno, Marcus Tomlinson/Gareth Pugh, Kosuke Tsumura, UEG, A.F. Vandevorst, Junya Watanabe, Robert Wilson, Vassilis Zidianakis.